It’s official because it’s on the schedule!

Calendar


Today is a new day. In June of this year I decided that July would be the start of my “new year” (yes, I’m fiscal minded). So when July came along I started a weight loss / work out program and so far I have lost six pounds (Thank You Denise Austin!) I was also determined to find a good writing class. Something that would not only educate, but also set a spark to the flame that is inside of me – the one that has been smoldering off and on for the past year (calendar, not fiscal)

As I have already blogged about, I found that class this week with the MasterClass – James Patterson Teaches Writing. The first lesson is – Write. What a simple concept and one that I have seen and heard many times.

James himself writes at least an hour a day. The class workbook suggests that I start with at least 500 words a day (and yes, I am considering these words a part of my 500).  With that understanding I set my alarm an hour earlier than normal. I figured I would start my day with my meditation, and then before the world attacks, I would get my one-hour/500 or more words in.

6:00am – still not really that motivated (I’m waiting for that energy drink to kick in), but I’m not as easily distracted – even though I did take my first 15 minutes to check Facebook. There is nothing on TV at 6:00am that I find interested, but I will watch last night’s Daily Show after I finish my one-hour/500 words. The phone’s not ringing and as of right now no one is sending me a Words With Friends challenge. All is quiet on the home front except for my nails tapping on the keyboard, which is actually a very nice sound.

I have scheduled Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday’s as my days to blog even though there will be days, like today, that I will just drop one in. I put that on the calendar to remind me that I need to put myself out there during this process. If not I would just write in my little corner (actually right now I’m on my couch with my IPad on my ottoman) of the world and never push myself beyond that imaginary boundary that I have placed around myself – the one that tells me that no one would want to read what I write (that is the one mantra that I believe all writers have). I know that for me that’s not true because I have two people that support me and ask me to read what I have written, and for me that’s an amazing start (I mean we all have to start somewhere)

It is said that if you do anything for 21 days that it becomes a habit. I only have 20 more days to go and at 6:50am on Day One I am feeling very accomplished!

Leave a comment